Heim flag is

  • Laugavegur 2017

    The 21st Laugavegur Ultra Marathon will take place on Saturday July 15th 2017. Registration for the race will be open from January 11th to June 30th but can be closed sooner if the race is fully booked. Information about entry fee, terms etc can be found in the menu bar above. Is this race for you?
  • Big challange

    Competitors must be in a very good physical shape to take part in this 55 km Ultra Marathon. the Laugavegur trail is very challenging and takes the runner through areas of outstanding natural beauty. If you want to know what kind of race the Laugavegur Ultra Marathon is we recommend that you read "Is this race for you?" 
  • The Laugavegur trail

    The Laugavegur trail is located in the southern highlands of Iceland and connects the nature reserves Landmannalaugar and Thorsmork. For many runners the Laugavegur Ultra Marathon is the most enjoyable race in Iceland. The course is 55 km and takes runners through areas of outstanding natural beauty.

Amber first female

2015-amber1Amber Ferreira from USA was the first female runner to finish the 2015 Laugavegur Ultra Marathon. Her finish time was 5:48:47.

First three ladies:

1. Amber Ferreira, USA, 5:48:47
2. Þóra Björg Magnúsdóttir, ISL, 5:54:44
3. Pia Mountford, USA, 6:01:49

Winner in each female age group where:

18-29 years - Tinna Lárusdóttir (ISL)
30-39 years - Amber Ferreira (USA)
40-49 years - Þóra Björg Magnúsdóttir (ISL)
50-59 years - Sondy Haldursdottir Johansen (FRO)
60-69 years - Ingibjörg Halldóra Jakobsdóttir (ISL)

Click here for total results.


Thorbergur broke the record again

thorbergur2Thorbergur Ingi Jónsson from Iceland was the first male runner to finish the 2015 Laugavegur Ultra Marthon. His time 3:59:13 was a new trail record. Thorbergur also broke the record last year when he ran on 4:07:47.

The first three male runners to finish:

1. Þorbergur Ingi Jónsson, ISL, 3:59:13
2. Vajin Armstrong, NZL, 4:31:19
3. Ryan Kelly, USA, 4:40:52

The weather was very nice on the trail today but the first part was very though because the runners had to cross a lot of snow.

The winners in each male age group were:

18-29 years - Guðni Páll Pálsson, ISL
30-39 years - Þorbergur Ingi Jónsson, ISL
40-49 years - Alan Rozendaal, USA
50-59 years - Cristiano Consolati, ITA, 4:58:55 (new record) 
60-69 years - Stephen Button, GBR

Click here for further results.

About Reykjavik Marathon

Reykjavik Marathon is a nonprofit organization that was established in 1984. Reykjavik Marathon organizes three events every year: Íslandsbanki Reykjavík Marathon in August, Laugavegur Ultra Marathon in July and Suzuki Midnight Sun Run in June.