Heim flag is

  • Laugavegur 2015

    The 19th Laugavegur Ultra Marathon will take place on Saturday July 18th 2015. Registration for the race will be open from January 9th to June 30th but can be closed sooner if the race is fully booked.
  • The Laugavegur trail

    The Laugavegur trail is located in the southern highlands of Iceland and connects the nature reserves Landmannalaugar and Thorsmork. For many runners the Laugavegur Ultra Marathon is the most enjoyable race in Iceland. The course is 55 km and takes runners through areas of outstanding natural beauty.
  • Big challange

    Competitors must be in a very good physical shape to take part in this 55 km Ultra Marathon. If you want to know what kind of race the Laugavegur Ultra Marathon is we recommend that you watch some of the video's here on the web. As the videos show the Laugavegur trail is very challenging and takes the runner through areas of outstanding natural beauty.
  • Webstore

    The Reykjavik Marathon Webstore offers jackets, t-shirts and more with the Laugavegur Ultra Marathon logo. You can find beautiful souvenir to remember a nice race and good training gear in preparation for next race. Check it out at www.marathon.is/shop.

Amber first female

amber1Amber Ferreira from USA was the first female runner to finish the 2015 Laugavegur Ultra Marathon. Her finish time was 5:48:47.

First three ladies:

1. Amber Ferreira, USA, 5:48:47
2. Þóra Björg Magnúsdóttir, ISL, 5:54:44
3. Pia Mountford, USA, 6:01:49

Winner in each female age group where:

18-29 years - Tinna Lárusdóttir (ISL)
30-39 years - Amber Ferreira (USA)
40-49 years - Þóra Björg Magnúsdóttir (ISL)
50-59 years - Sondy Haldursdottir Johansen (FRO)
60-69 years - Ingibjörg Halldóra Jakobsdóttir (ISL)

Click here for total results.


Thorbergur broke the record again

thorbergur2Thorbergur Ingi Jónsson from Iceland was the first male runner to finish the 2015 Laugavegur Ultra Marthon. His time 3:59:13 was a new trail record. Thorbergur also broke the record last year when he ran on 4:07:47.

The first three male runners to finish:

1. Þorbergur Ingi Jónsson, ISL, 3:59:13
2. Vajin Armstrong, NZL, 4:31:19
3. Ryan Kelly, USA, 4:40:52

The weather was very nice on the trail today but the first part was very though because the runners had to cross a lot of snow.

The winners in each male age group were:

18-29 years - Guðni Páll Pálsson, ISL
30-39 years - Þorbergur Ingi Jónsson, ISL
40-49 years - Alan Rozendaal, USA
50-59 years - Cristiano Consolati, ITA, 4:58:55 (new record) 
60-69 years - Stephen Button, GBR

Click here for further results.

About Reykjavik Marathon

Reykjavik Marathon is a nonprofit organization that was established in 1984. Reykjavik Marathon organizes three events every year: Íslandsbanki Reykjavík Marathon in August, Laugavegur Ultra Marathon in July and Suzuki Midnight Sun Run in June.